This is not a time to cast judgement. We are here for support and encuragement. If you want to offer that, feel free in a comment here and anonymous will read them. Thank you all for sharing each week. What a great feature this has been. Enjoy the day.
anonymous-
My uncle is dead. Not in the actual sense of the word. But he is dead to me and to my husband.
Back when I was a working parent, before my last child came along, my other two kids stayed at the house that my uncle shared with his girlfriend (who is the actual owner of the home). Back then, they were still pretty small. Considered toddlers.
In the back of the house, there was a shed/workshop that my uncle used to fix things or put stuff together and just "mess around" and "tinker".
He was an alcoholic. Severely. He's been a "drinker" for as long as I could remember. At one point, my husband and I went to pick up the kids after a late shift we both worked (we used to work at the same place, different departments).
After so many times of seeing (and smelling) him after he's drank way too much, I knew that his staggering and blood-shot eyes were NOT from "being overly tired". I called BS right then and there and told him (and his then girlfriend who was the actual babysitter) that IF it EVER happened again, neither of them would EVER see my kids again because I wasn't about to put them through what I went through with him.
But that in the end was the least of my worries. A few years later, at the same house, in the same shed where he would get drunk, the local police raided the home and ransacked the shed.
What they found was appalling. And no, it wasn't the Pot that he claimed was "someone else's". But the HUNDREDS of pictures of CHILD PORNOGRAPHY. Worse yet, is that HE was the one that took the pictures!!
After hearing of his arrest for OVER 100 charges of Felony Possession of Child Porn, I literally was sick to my stomach. And no mother...or father should have to ask the Investigator in charge, "Were any of them MY children who stayed in their care?". Luckily for them (and him) they were NOT. But "family" was.
In the end, he plead "guilty" to all charges as to "save us from a trial and from having to take the stand", even though he said to us he was innocent. That's his first downfall with me. If you are TRULY innocent, you fight tooth and nail for it.
But I think what really gets me is that his (ex?) girlfriend STILL TO THIS DAY is thinking he is going to COME HOME after being served like ONE HUNDRED (or almost that) years sentence with I think 25 time required. How can she even THINK of letting that man come back? After what he did, I say LET HIM NEVER GET OUT!! He deserves every single day in that cell.
As for my father, I DO understand it's his brother. But this is his SECOND conviction for these kinds of charges. Only much more extreme than the first one. Would it change my father if his brother did indeed do this to MY kids, his grandkids?
I get a lot of flack from both my dad and the girlfriend, but mostly my dad. I refuse to acknowledge my uncle in ANY way. No pictures. No letters. Nothing. I hate even bringing up his name. And I don't around the two oldest kids.
But as a parent, and as a niece that is beyond disappointed in a person who literally had a hand in raising me for doing what is considered the unthinkable. The ONLY "good" from all of this is that his mother, my grandmother wasn't still alive to know of this and see what kind of monster her eldest son had become.
Unlike my father and his girlfriend, I can NEVER truly forgive him. I'm sorry. I'll always love him as the uncle of the past. But otherwise I have no use for him. If that makes me a bad person, then so be it. If I'm heartless, so be it. And I have been called the latter by my own father for how I feel.
Thank you for sharing anonymous!
Please link up whatever you cleaned out today!

No comments:
Post a Comment