on a deeper note; i wanted to share my struggles with my body image when i was in high school. i was anorexic and bulimic. i'm 30 now and after my first daughter at age 19 i was still obsessed with looking good. i gained a tremendous amount of weight with her and started Tae Bo immediately after having her. it was the hottest thing back then and i couldn't afford {or didn't want to spend my money on} the dvd's, so I memorized how they did the system and incorporated that into my daily routine.
food is way too good to pass up and i love it. i overcame my body image issues and learned to love myself for me. i had an amazing man who loved me regardless and although many times i was overweight in our 14 years together, i ended up losing it----HEALTHY. i could NEVER do what i did in highschool especially now having 2 daughters. that is something i am strongly sensitive about and i get irate when people make the slightest remarks about a child's weight.
i'm not a stranger to weight loss pills, diets or even laxatives. but there comes a point in your life when you cannot depend on those things. it's just unhealthy and messes your body up.
i don't own a scale. i don't think i've weighed myself in years. truthfully, i don't know how much i weigh. but i'm happy with that. when i feel full, i cut back....if i feel great, i eat what i want and i don't live by any meal plans or anything like that. i eat what i want to eat, when i want to eat.
when i feel ick, i stop drinking soda and drink more water. when i feel like having a protein bar, i have the pure protein ones and if i really need to clean my system out, i drink a protein drink. i eat high fiber cereals and oatmeal. i enjoy good food out each week. but i eat what i want, when i want. my body tells me what to do.
everyday, i go out to meet my eldest after school. i either ride my blades while riding a bike
{yes at the same time} or walk. i try to jog home but i have this horrible vein in my leg that kills me. we go swimming and have a gym but i rarley use. the last time i was there, Bryan was my PT and did something to my pelvis. it still hurts 10 months later....(exaggerating)
i'm not a flat ab girl nor do i ever plan to be. i have flub and even lay in my bikini where the entire community can see me. i let my stretch marks hang out and i don't care.....because i am a MOM, a hard worker and a person that loves herself for who she is. i don't need to be rock solid, skinny or have a perfect body. i am me and that's who i want to be......getting fit doesn't mean you have to stress yourself out or have this image that you need to be thin....it means that you FEEL GOOD and you LOVE yourself and you are HEALTHY.
i have to stretch every day....my right leg requires it and i hate doing them but they are a must. i find in the shower to be the best. i have to shave....so i stretch too. i get naked and do my exercises (tae-bo style) in the mirror. it's the only way i'll get it in. and then i dance.....put some music on and dance with your kids. it's the best feeling ever.
i'm not stick thin and that's okay....i'm active....all in good play
so let's get fit....healthy style!
No comments:
Post a Comment